Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted on Dec 2, 2017 in Featured, News Releases

Freestone County student wins Free Enterprise Speech Contest

Freestone County student wins Free Enterprise Speech Contest


(FRISCO, Texas)—A high school junior from Teague took first place and a $6,000 scholarship as winner of the 2017 Free Enterprise Speech Contest at the 84th Texas Farm Bureau Annual Meeting.

Haylee Young, daughter of Doug and Tisha Young of Teague, topped 12 other speakers from across Texas in the annual contest.

At Teague High School, Young is the president of Teague FFA and is active in the National Honor Society, Student Council and Hispanic Honor Society. 

Young plans to attend Tarleton State University to pursue a degree in agricultural economics with a minor in law.

Runner-up in the Dec. 2 competition and winner of a $3,000 scholarship was Maleah Walker, a high school junior from Seymour. The daughter of Monica and Dustin Walker, she plans to attend Texas Tech University and major in architecture.

At Seymour High School, Walker is active in Student Council, National Honor Society and Spanish Club and is a 4-H district council officer. She also plays several sports, including basketball, track and is a cheerleader.

Four other finalists and winners of $2,000 scholarships were named, including Shae Lynn Suttle of Crosby County, Mikel-Ann Terry of Fisher County, Shane Flanagan of Runnels County and Weston Reynolds of Angelina County.

The winner, runner-up and four finalists will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to visit elected officials, observe Congress in session and visit historical sites.

Other contestants and winners of $1,500 scholarships were Saydee Detwiler of Childress County, Mason Reid of Bowie County, Emily Brite of Hood County, Serah Kate Blair of Atascosa County, Dayton Pham of Brazos County, Lauren Garrett of Victoria County and Charles Lee of Hidalgo County.


Haylee Young of Freestone County (right) and Maleah Walker of Baylor County (left) have been named the winner and runner-up, respectively, of Texas Farm Bureau’s 2017 Free Enterprise Speech Contest at the organization’s 84th annual meeting in Frisco.


Related Images: